Quality Standard ( ISO/CMM)

Quality management ensures that an organization, product or service is consistent. It has four main components: quality planning, quality assurance, quality control and quality improvement Quality management is focused not only on product and service quality, but also on the means to achieve it. Quality management, therefore, uses quality assurance and control of processes as well as products to achieve more consistent quality

What are quality management standards?

Quality management standards establish a framework for how a business manages its key activities. They identify an agreed way of doing something, either making a product, managing a process or delivering a service.

What are quality standards?

Quality management standards are details of requirements, specifications, guidelines and characteristics that products, services and processes should consistently meet in order to ensure:

  • their quality matches expectations
  • they are fit for purpose
  • they meet the needs of their users

Standards are an essential element of quality management systems.

Purpose of quality management standards

Businesses use standards to satisfy their customers' quality requirements and for a range of other reasons, such as:

  • ensuring safety and reliability of their products and services
  • complying with regulations, often at a lower cost
  • defining and controlling internal processes
  • meeting environmental objectives

Businesses committed to following quality management standards are often more able to:

  • increase their profits
  • reduce losses or costs across the business
  • improve their competitiveness
  • gain market access across the world
  • increase consumer loyalty

Difference Between CMMI vs ISO

Both CMMI and ISO aim at improving process quality. Here, you'll find an explanation on both CMMI and ISO as well as how they differ in implementation, approach, scope as well as their conceptual differences.

Explaining CMMI and ISO

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI), developed by the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania is an imporvement on the earlier CMM model that determined the maturity of software intensive systems. The latest version, CMMI 1.2, released in August 2006 address Development (CMMI-DEV), Services (CMMI-SVC) and Acquisition (CMMI-ACQ). CMI-DEV is a yardstick to judge the maturity of an organization’s software development systems by comparing it to the best industry practice.

ISO is a family of quality management standards developed and maintained by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). ISO 9001, for instance relates to standards in the supply chain and ISO 14000 relates to environment related standards. ISO specifications change with time.

CMMI vs ISO: Conceptual Difference

The fundamental difference between CMMI vs ISO is conceptual. CMMI is a process model and ISO is an audit standard.

CMMI is a set of related "best practices" derived from industry leaders and relates to product engineering and software development. Businesses receive CMMI ratings from Level 1 to Level 5 depending upon the extent of compliance to key performance areas specified in the selected CMMI process area.

ISO is a certification tool that certifies businesses whose processes conform to the laid down standards.



SkillsTech has been working with the Quality Standard ( ISO/CMM) concept since inception. Being associated with many of the Quality Standard ( ISO/CMM) projects in both Govt and Non-Govt organisations, SkillsTech is promoting this technology driven structure.

Email Us Your Query